top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBODHIANS

A PLACE 10 YEARS AGO AND NOW

I still remember those days of my childhood in jodhpur, when I

used to roam around the blue city on the cycle when I and

my friends could play everyday at a new park for almost a

year and still have some of them unvisited. I cannot forget my

very old but still huge and comfortable bungalow where my

grandparents still live. I miss the big lawn where I used to play infitiny number of games with my friends.

I miss the delicious traditional food of our state which my mom would make with her

own magical hands. Being honest, no other food can taste

better than that and it would have been the best meal if she

feeds me with her own hands.


I still remember the architecture structure of our city. The small

houses all painted blue which was like a tradition. Although we

used to stay in the outskirts of the city we all loved the

Tripolia Bazaar, the main area from where jodhpur grew larger.

We used to visit it almost every Sunday. Those extremely

narrow streets where its impossible to take a car. We used to

just roam around the market and rarely by something; only if I

cried for a toy or bat. The continues push of the crowd and

getting our way out to where we could breath was disgustingly

enjoying as the sweaty people would smell really bad and the

people would randomly push us and act as if they didn’t do

anything but the best about this was that I did the same if I got

irritated. And this was the fun of roaming in the market. The

various noises coming up from different places like some

people would be ordering food in the restaurant, we could hear

people bargaining for ten minutes until the shopkeeper agrees,

sometimes a child like me crying for toys etc.


I miss that visit mainly because of the delicious smell coming

from the different restaurants and the tasty mirchibada, the

the signature dish of Jodhpur and of course the sweets.


I still remember that beautiful scenery from the Mehrangarh

Fort, a historical monument where kings used to live and from

where the whole city could be seen. A sight from there could

mesmerize anyone; even if you visit there for the tenth time.

The natural beauty, although not much of greenery and most of

the sandy areas, still it was beautiful and this is what the

worst part is that these all things “WERE” and not “ARE”.


When I visited jodhpur after almost 10 years, it has changed

drastically. Although its good that Jodhpur has developed but it

has developed more than it should have been because this

development has more disadvantages than advantages. The

parks have disappeared because people or I would rather say

children no more like to come out and play with their friends.

They do play with their friends but neither outdoor sports nor

indoor sports, they just like to play with them in the video

games.


Those huge and comfortable bungalows are completely

replaced by those small, congested flats. Honestly, it almost took

me months to adjust in those flats when I shifted to Mumbai

after living for almost 25 years in jodhpur. I don’t know why but I

just hated this. Jodhpur lost its essence and its culture. The

blue city was no bluer as all those houses vanished away.

We could barely see even a bungalow. The Tripolia Bazaar,

which was now known as the city for the sake of giving a modern a

name, has completely changed. There was still a market but it


was totally different from the earlier one. People’s

sophistication has just changed everything. The roads had

become broad. No crowd on Sundays. It was just like the usual

market running in the city. Those restaurants which used to

serve those traditional and signature food of Jodhpur were

replaced by the multi-cuisine restaurants. The sweet shops

were replaced by the bakery shops.


I wish everything turns back to how it was earlier. Now I

realized that I made a huge mistake by leaving my home town

and shifted to some other place. This visit made me realise that

those were the best days of my life, unlike my thoughts which

were to shifting outside is necessary for a better lifestyle and I

will not have good living standards here. But I was totally

wrong. I wish I could go back in time to cherish those moments

again and never leave this city.


-Darsh Jain

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MOM

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page