top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBODHIANS

A city I got lost in

In the following description, the narrator, who loves travelling, describes her unforgettable visit to the city which never sleeps.

The instant I took my first step in New York, the sensations of the city calmed my inner storm of restless excitement. The fresh air that enveloped me was rather refreshing. I felt completely different energy, one that was playful, colourful and exciting all at the same time. I looked up to stretch my stiff limbs and was greeted by the cluster of white cotton candies flowing in the vast spread blue ocean complementing the wonderful environment of New York.

I looked around to see that I was surrounded by the significant and enormous buildings, painted in pastel shades. These were humungous and looked like herculean guards of the city. They were tall and masculine, and I felt intimidated by their loftiness. Their magnificence was ascertained by the tinted glasses that kept the internal business away from the sights of an outsider. I wondered how the glasses were some clean and shiny; how would they be cleaned at such towering heights.

The path was seamless and perfect for gliding, not a pothole, not a bump. The desire to skate on such flawless road overpowered me, but I subdued it and kept treating my eyes with the brilliance that sprawled around. Either side of the road was green. Trees and plants of myriad sizes stood in perfect harmony with each other. I was amused by the view. The path dyed in charcoal black made perfect contrast with the vibrant green on the sides.

I kept walking oblivious of time and distance. The walls that fortified the road on which I walked had murals on them. They were sprayed with the chaotic and striking abstracts, narrating a story that I could not relate to, but I wondered at the precision and neatness of the work. What an interesting way of beautifying a mundane wall!

The rectangular stretch of the road took me to the happening place that was marked by the peals of laughter of young ones to the chatter between sellers and buyers. I reached the market place. People around were cheerful, happy and vivacious; they wearing bright colourful dresses. It was fantastic to see them hanging out. With so much crowd in the market, I realized it was a Saturday. I was attracted to a melodious voice and familiar music. I looked around to see the source but could not find it. Instantly, I caught sight of a big group of youngsters tapping their feet and clapping their hands. I moved in the direction and found a young boy sitting on a stool and singing’ Shape of you’. People around him were enjoying it wholeheartedly; their tapping and clapping were synchronized harmoniously with the rhythm. It was actually a soulful performance. Some girls wearing velvet jeans with a turtle-neck top began dancing while some recorded the event to treasure it as a memory.

I then moved towards the hustle and bustle of Times Square. It was the most crowded place. It seemed I was sailing in a sea of people. I looked around with awe at the grandeur of the place: Broadway theatres, cinemas, electronic billboards, restaurants and shops. Despite being so crowded, no one rubbed past other, nor pushed or elbowed other for finding away. The aroma of freshly brewed coffee attracted me and I bought one; it became a good companion of mine while I strolled the streets and witnessed how the sky changed its colour. For a while, I got lost in the creamy texture of the coffee that slip down my throat so smoothly that I was left with the urge to have more.

At night, the sparks lit the sky and it looked phenomenal. The lights of Times Square had a magnetic pull that night, there were hundreds of cameras flashing within one sweep of my eyes. New York City was filled with more than a few neon lights, at diverse spaces. These neon signs were shouting louder than the moon and stars. The tall metal street lamps cast an artificial glow onto the streets making it look glorious. The place was glittering with beautiful lights- sometimes the place looked deluged in red light, sometimes green and on other blue.

The same quantity of people making the same amount of noises all around! Now, I got to know that New York is truly the city that never sleeps.

Source of the help: descriptionari

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page