top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBODHIANS

The unanswered letter

Updated: May 26, 2020




It’s 2 am of the chilly midnight!! . Nothing bounds Anna from following her daily routine, again moving towards the same beloved chair in the same corner, setting herself comfortably on it; she again began writing, nobody knew what she wrote in fact nobody cared because Marie, Anna’s ruthless mom, was so absorbed in her own private world while Edward, her kind hearted father was most of the time engaged attending business conferences around the world. Anna, her skin is cream and roses which accompanied her sharp beady blue eyes, as blue as the waters of Norwegian Fiord with sour expressions on her face. She was very depressed, one evening I saw her crying while writing, I stood there and observed her, till she completed her work. Early in the morning, I heard the voice of somebody opening the entrance gate, I decided to track that person and what I saw was incredible, it was Anna moving towards the Letter box. I think she was posting the similar papers on which she was writing yesterday. Day by day my curiosity to know the matter was rising to a great extent. The same schedule of Anna was ongoing; her mom never put an effort to understand her and the struggles she was going through. Anna was an introvert, she could never muster enough courage to utter two words even to her class mates and so she never had any friends in her life.

One fateful day, Anna went missing, she had gone to the post office early in the morning and didn’t come back. Marie complained it to the police force but alas, neither the police nor her indifferent mother made any real attempts to search for Anna. ”Anna is no more “, informed the police officer sympathetically, and to let the people know that she was a concerned mother, Marie even cried for some days, but the next day she was again engaged in her daily routine . I cried a lot because Anna was the only one who was very close to me out of all the members in the family. My curiosity to find Anna had changed into a deep depressing acceptance of her death when one fine day, the doorbell rang, “who’s it?” inquired Marie, “Hey! It’s Harry”, replied the tall, young teenager, with handsome sunburned face which complimented his stern eyes and lips that shut tightly. I was thrilled too to find Hurry’s arrival and rushed to greet him. Harry was the more favourite between the two siblings and was welcomed by Marie gushingly, who served him the best of exotic desserts, which accompanied his Irish coffee. I could relate to this name pretty well. Sadly Harry only stayed at home for just 2 days and on the 3rd day he was preparing to leave the house.

Quite by chance, I managed to listen to some whispers coming from the guest room, I went there to listen to the communication clearly and what I heard was startling, “I feel so guilty that I missed the opportunity to speak to Anna and see her for at least once”, replied Harry mournfully, but my ego always empowered my emotions towards Anna, when I realized that I should go to see her, my terrible fate!, I got to hear that she is no more with us. I loved her a lot and I cried a lot whenever I used to receive her disturbing letters, requesting me to come back , I wish I could have answered at least one letter but again my self-worth didn’t give me the permission to do so and eventually ego took over love . Anna, my adorable little sister, I miss you a lot, please! Try to forgive me”. After a prolonged talk he ended the call abruptly with his buddy and promised himself, that he will examine and will positively put the culprit behind the bars, who had killed her or forced her to commit suicide. “Don’t worry sister, I will take your payback soon” claimed Harry to Anna, in an aggrieved voice. I was also curious to know, how was Anna murdered? The entire story behind her murder.

But the story doesn’t end here, I didn’t gave up and started my investigation again , so I realised that , I should once go and visit the place where Anna used to go every morning. I reached there, I saw a colossal glorious cheery blossom tree near a wooden bench and I remember, Anna each evening used to come here and sit on that bench. Suddenly! , the sweet ambience got fouled by the putrid smell and when I went closer I saw something which was a very big astonishment for me , it was Anna’s body lying on the garbage .

I rushed home in order to inform Harry about this incident I encountered, but I heard some murmurs, while I almost about to enter and what I heard was dreadful, Harry and Marie was celebrating Anna’s death, “ultimately we will be able to capture the complete property which dad planned to give to Anna, since she was his favourite “claimed Harry to his mom. I was totally disturbed after I heard that discussion but I was helpless and hopeless because, disappointingly I can just make out what is the truth but cannot prove it by providing the evidences, because in the end, I was just a small entity, her faithful terrier, Jerry.

And therefore I decided to close the case. Unfortunately Anna’s soul won’t get amity and justice ever and the ones who are the criminals will be benefited at the end.

The mystery is not solved yet…….


Bhumi maradia

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page